My first day at the courthouse

It was after my first year of law school.  I was clerking in a teeny tiny firm.  I drafted research memos for the most part that summer.

But one day, I was asked to go to the courthouse!

I had to file something in the clerk’s office.  That’s it.  I wasn’t appearing in front of a judge, I wasn’t going with a client.  Just had to walk into the clerk’s office, time-stamp the papers, and leave.

But I thought it was absolutely necessary that I look like a lawyer.  So here’s me looking like a lawyer for my first visit to the courthouse.Yes.  That’s me in my fancy lawyer suit with a briefcase and non-descript file folder.  (I even wear dark-rimmed glasses when I wear glasses!)

The car I was driving that summer did not have air-conditioning.  And only 1 window would roll down.  And it overheated if I was idle for too long.  And I had to open the trunk to get the gas tank to open.  Blue Betty was special.  So, by the time I drove the 30 or so minutes to the courthouse in the sweltering heat, I looked like this in my fancy lawyer suit (Except that I’m a woman, but when you do a google search trying to find pictures of women sweating in suits you find only attractive women in Juicy couture track suits.) :

Gross!

I marched into the court house and tried to locate the clerk’s office.  This is me locating the clerk’s office:

(Again, a perfect replica of me with my dark-rimmed glasses).  I was a little confused, as the clerk’s office has different entry points for different types of cases.  What kind of case did I have?  How could I tell?  A real lawyer would know these things!

I made a decision.  Marched in the door and was thankfully in the right spot.  I stamped my papers.  No one looked impressed with me at all.  This is people not impressed with me:

And then I left.

But you know what I realized that day, my first day at the courthouse?

That everyone else looks like this when they go to the courthouse:

 

(Less the fact that all these pictures are of famous people).

Leave a comment